Tags

, , , ,

Once I had sold a couple of pieces, and figured out how to sign them properly, I found I also needed to catalog my work. This took a lot longer than I thought it would. The more pieces I have, the harder it is to keep track of them. I am already taking photos, which I post on this blog, so that has been helpful. But I didn’t have a way to keep track of which piece is what number; I just have the date it was created.

The catalog also helps me keep track of which pieces are gone from the collection, or allows me to tag others for people who’ve expressed an interest in buying a piece. Referring back to Art Business.com by Alan Bamberger, I’m signing the back of my work, so as not to interfere with the art/composition. As a result, my actual signature will be covered up once the piece is framed. So, I’m letting the catalog serve double duty. I include a tag of authenticity with each piece, which can be affixed to the back of the framed work. I include the date, the medium, the size, and my name printed legibly underneath my signature. Printed on fine paper, it lends professionalism and a  thumbprint on the tag along with my signature adds a nice touch.