Tags

, ,

Who knew that the style with which you sign your work goes in and out of vogue? Throughout this series, I have dated my artwork, but I have not signed it. I have a relatively long name and my signature is awkward. So when I actually sold a couple of pieces of work, I have a dilemma.

So, I turned to the internet, once again, for advice. I found a site called Art Business.com by Alan Bamberger. One of the most common problems with art today is that artists don’t sign their work, or their signature is illegible. The reasons for this are many and varied, the most of which is likely ego (“my work is great so everyone will recognize it,” or “I suck and I’m unknown so what does it matter anyway?”)

Without a signature, your art runs the risk of losing its identity over time. So, what did I do? I decided to sign the back of the piece. And for framed works, I also included a card affixed to the back of the piece when framed. On this card, I included an image of the art (technology makes it easy), listed the name of the piece, the sized and the medium, my name, my signature and thumbprint for authenticity. Every time I sell a piece, I will include one of these cards with the original artwork.

