Tags

, , , ,

in situWhen my client ordered commission artwork for his house renovation, I wanted to view the space where the pieces were to hang, so I measure how big the pieces needed to be. Seeing where the work would hang allowed me to get an idea how big the pieces needed to be so they are appropriately sized for the room. The entry wall to the house is huge and begged for a large piece of artwork.

When my client took receipt of the paintings, I was unable to help him hang the pieces in his home, due to the time constraints of my impending move. So he sent me pictures of the art hanging on his walls. Looking at the the picture to left, I was surprised to see that the artwork almost seems lost on the wall. It may be because the piece is hanging so close to the ceiling.

diptych in situWhen I saw the second piece, I was able to deduce the hanging decision of the homeowner. When we measured the wall space originally, we decided that there should be an extra-wide piece over the sofa. So the client chose a diptych, a continuous image that continues over two separate pieces of canvas, so they hang together. I intended for the art to float evenly between the furniture and the ceiling. But for practical reasons, the client decided to hang the pieces high so that people sitting on the sofa would not be able to lean their heads back on the artwork. Once the pieces were in place over the sofa, it only made sense to hang the entry piece high for visual consistency. This allows the homeowner to place a piece of furniture such as a hutch or bench under the artwork to balance the open space. After all, even though the artwork is done, the home itself is still a work in progress.

