Tags

, ,

When I started making art again, I wanted feedback from my oldest and dearest friend Michael from art school. Based upon his feedback and encouragement, I continued to forge ahead with my project. Unfortunately for me, Michael is far away and does not have internet. He he is content to live out in the country, doing his own thing, with the quiet and his dogs.

Once I had created enough pieces for a decent-sized body of work, I decided to pluck up my courage and look up my former professor at Western Carolina University. He’s gone from there now, but thanks to technology, it was easy to locate the work of Robert Godfrey.

Retirement hasn’t slowed him down. He is busy continuing to create art and is currently guest curator at The Curatorium just 2 hours north of New York City by train. I also found YouTube video clips which allow a glimpses into some of the shows that have hung at the Curatorium.

Getting feedback from somebody who really knows their stuff where art is concerned is both scary and exciting. Thankfully, he offered encouraging feedback. I hope he does not mind me quoting him here:

“Like to see your dancing chairs and bridges (with or without planes, though I like the one with the plane) in the real someday.  I will always expect the quirk from you!”

Lucky for me, he came down to the city and we had lunch and went gallery hopping. He also shared tons of useful resources for showing my work, getting funding, and connecting with other artists. Thank for all your help, Bob!

 

