Tags

, ,

When I think about creating art, it calls to mind romantic images of the artist on a warm spring day with an easel set up in a hay field. Then there is the reality of trying to draw on the busy footpath of a dirty, noisy bridge on a cold and windy January day. Not fun. So I’ve resorted to the luxuries of technology and use a camera. Some people may say that I’ve “sold out” by creating composites from pictures, and I’ll say to them, “fine, you got freeze your butt off on a cold, metal behemoth with crazy people cussing at you.” I’ll work in the relative comfort of my warm kitchen next to a working bathroom.

Along with a digital camera, I’ve also utilized my I-Pad by downloading my photographs into DropBox so that I store everything centrally and access it through all of my electronic devices. This has not come easy to me, so I had to get help from my husband, which felt like another frustrating delay (same with setting up this blog). I have not embraced technology as readily as many of my peers. One of the reasons I got out of graphic design was the constant upgrades in software and the advent of design for the internet that got me further and further away from the paste-up and drawing that utilized my own two hands to do my work. Bodywork, in that context, was a logical choice and, limited by my scope of practice, physical therapy beyond that.

The use of technology allows me to take several images and composite elements of them into my work. This allows for more balanced compositions and visual interest in keeping with my artistic vision. This way, I am able to better convey my experience of crossing the Manhattan bridge in a subway train.

